By Asphalt Roofing Manufacturers Association (ARMA)

The roofing sector has talented, dedicated, and ambitious professionals who deliver outstanding contributions to the industry. So why not celebrate their remarkable project achievements?

The Asphalt Roofing Manufacturers Association (ARMA) recognizes roofing professionals through a prestigious awards program focused on the exemplary use of asphaltic roofing materials.  

The ARMA Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program seeks to identify the top low- and steep-slope asphalt roofing projects across North America that demonstrate an exceptional level of innovation, complexity, beauty, and value. The awards program honors asphalt roofing craftsmanship while highlighting best practices and quality in the roofing industry. This has become an industry-wide competition, covering the full spectrum of asphalt roofing systems. 

ARMA is now accepting submissions for the 2023 Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program. ARMA encourages roofing contractors to submit their best residential and commercial asphalt roofing projects from the past three years for consideration by December 1, 2022.

Below are frequently asked questions about ARMA’s awards program and how to enter the 2023 Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards. 

What is the ARMA Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program?

For over 10 years, the awards program has celebrated excellence in the asphalt roofing industry. Each year, ARMA receives submissions showcasing asphalt roofing products as the ideal solution for steep- and low-slope projects. The program provides industry professionals an opportunity to display their work, gain inspiration for future projects, and share their enthusiasm for the roofing industry. The competition also represents part of ARMA’s efforts to educate homeowners on the utility of asphalt roofing and the top contractors installing the material. These award-winning projects illustrate the beauty, affordability, and reliability of residential and commercial asphalt roofing systems.

How Does Judging Work? 

A distinguished panel of judges convenes to critique and select the best asphalt roofing projects. The judging panel is comprised of a cross-section of roofing industry experts with extensive experience and technical proficiency.

Projects will be judged in four categories:

• Beauty – Does the project embody either an aesthetic beauty or does it demonstrate beautiful technical complexity? Is it visually attractive and/or does it contain challenging technical obstacles overcome through innovative use of asphalt roofing materials?

• Performance – Does the project demonstrate asphalt roofing’s reliability, durability, and overall system strength?

• Asphalt: The Roofing Solution – Why was asphalt chosen for this project?

• Distinction – Is the project distinct from its peers?

What Do Winners Receive? 

Winners must demonstrate a high degree of asphalt roofing skill, shining a light on the complex workmanship and high-quality products involved in the individual projects. 

In recognition of their achievement, the winners (Gold, Silver, and Bronze) receive:

• A cash prize (Gold – $2,000; Silver – $1,000; Bronze – $500)

• Features in national roofing and/or building and construction publications 

• Press releases notifying industry trade press and local media

• Social media promotion

• Formal recognition during the International Roofing Expo (IRE) and the opportunity to network with major asphalt roofing manufacturers

• An official ARMA certificate and other authority-boosting materials

• Recognition on the ARMA website for the winning project

How Many Winners are there? 

There are three recipients of the ARMA Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program – Gold, Silver, and Bronze. In addition, three honorable mentions are selected each year.

What Types of Projects are Eligible? 

ARMA encourages a diverse array of submissions, including residential, commercial, low-slope, and steep-slope projects. No matter the size or complexity, ARMA welcomes all types of asphalt roofing projects for consideration. 

Is there an Application Fee? 

There is no charge to participate in the program. It’s free to apply. 

Can an Applicant Submit Multiple Entries?

An applicant may submit multiple entries as long as each project was completed in the last three years and meets the specified judging criteria. 

What is the Submission Process?

The submission process is fairly simple. Submissions, which require a project questionnaire and high-resolution images, must demonstrate the benefits of asphalt roofing and top-notch artistry. When completing the form, clearly explain why asphalt was used on the project and upload the photos.

What is the Competition Timeline?

The competition runs from August to December every year. The deadline to submit your application for the 2023 Excellence in Asphalt Roofing Awards Program is December 1, 2022.

Why Enter the Awards Program?

In any industry, a commitment to excellence and an award-winning track record exemplifies the quality of services. Documenting successful projects that illustrate the benefits of asphalt roofing systems will help professionals build portfolios and homeowners find the best value available in roofing today.

Award recognition can assist with public relations efforts, sales, and customer loyalty, as well as build culture among employees. Furthermore, there is nothing better than sharing the success of a job well done. Award winners receive monetary prizes and recognition in national trade media, local media, and on ARMA’s website and social media. By submitting notable roofing jobs for consideration, applicants have the opportunity to differentiate the quality of achievements and services from competitors.

How Does an Applicant Enter?

The 2023 Excellence Awards submission form, along with the full program guidelines, can be found at